Southern Gothic: Beaufort’s Old Burying Ground

This is going to sound strange. I love graveyards. If you’re cocking your head to the side as you read this, your suspicions aren’t misplaced. I can’t explain it, its such an odd attraction, especially for someone who in general is a fan of the chipper, sunshinyer side of life.

They have a magic about them, rich in history, steeped in mystery. I always find myself wondering why people avoid them. And avoid them they do! Try it on for size sometime, mention to a complete stranger how you love to stalk around cemeteries, and take in the view and I can guarantee you their view of you will be a slight bit skewed. If you take a moment to think about it its really not all that odd. Graveyards after all are not built for the dead but rather as a place for the living- to visit, to commune, to contemplate.

Odd as it may seem. Graveyards are cool. Southern graveyards in particular hold a special sort of charm. The Old Burying Ground in Beaufort, NC is no exception. The final resting place of privateers, sailors, and even children. History is in no short supply. Famous to infamous, this small cemetery boasts big stories of lives well lived and lost. 13

5

10

3

11

Love these images? Keep up with me on Facebook, by liking the page here.  To purchase these images and more visit my Etsy shop, visit here.

Published by

rebellephotographie

I am an adventurer, photographer and traveler. My whole life I have always preferred to look and listen rather than to be seen and heard. In a world of strife and struggle it is easy to miss the beautiful elegant nature of life, and the interconnectedness of our world. I am inspired by the reflection of light and love in all things. I believe that through photography, I have the power to help others fall in love with their world. Through love, comes conservation, through conservation comes restoration. It is my greatest hope that through my images the viewer finds their own messages of strength, hope, resilience, and beauty. On display throughout the United States, my work is available for purchase through private dealers, on commission, and through my online gallery at : www. rebelphoto.net

Leave a Reply

